Mildura Base Hospital
Part of Ramsay Health Care

Patients who do not have a Medicare Card

If you are not eligible for Medicare you will be required to pay for all of your hospital services with the exception of patients who come from countries that have Reciprocal Health Care Agreements with Australia and Asylum Seekers.


On Presentation to Mildura Base Hospital the following fees will apply.

Service Fee

Outpatient Clinic eg: Allied Health Service


Emergency Department


Same Day Admission


Overnight Stay – Medical, Surgical or Obstetric (per day)


Intensive Care Unit 1-4 days (per day)


Intensive Care Unit 5+ days (per day)


Cataract patient


The fees are effective from 01 August 2018 to 30 June 2019.

Payment for the Emergency Department will be required to be made on presentation to ED.

Payment for a planned admission will be required to be paid for at the time of admission.

Payment for an unplanned admission will be required to make a part payment during the admission and balance of the account paid on discharge.

If you have insurance with an Australian Health Fund, we can process your account through them and no payment will be required up front. If you have an overseas health fund, payment of the account will be required and you will need to claim your fees back from them.

Asylum Seekers

If you are as asylum seeker or refugee you are entitled to free essential medical care.  You will need to provide supporting documentation confirming your status from the Department of Immigration or recognised asylum support agency such as Red Cross.  If you cannot provide this documentation, you will be billed; however fees will be waived if the documents are produced to us at a later date.

Reciprocal Health care Agreements (RHCA)

If you are a resident of a county that has a health care agreement with Australia, you may be entitled to free treatment using the public health system due to ill health or injury for any medically necessary treatment that is required before returning home.  This does not include elective or planned treatments.  Patients who are eligible for reciprocal rights will need to show a current passport.

The Countries listed below currently have Reciprocal Health Care Agreements with Australia:

  • Finland
  • Italy
  • Malta
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Republic of Ireland
  • Sweden
  • The Netherlands
  • United Kingdom
  • Belgium
  • Slovenia

Reciprocal Health Care Agreements are not designed to replace private travel health insurance.  For more information on RCHA, contact the Department of Human Services or look up their website